"6 Years And 700 Fico Denial"

My Best Buy® Credit Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: v8eaterwrx on 2008-02-13

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

v8eaterwrx's review: I had a card from Best Buy when I turned 18. At the time I had very little understanding of credit and the negative effects of not paying your bills.

6 years later at over a 700 FICO score with 20k in credit and I was denied by Best Buy/HSBC for a credit card. I learned that HSBC black lists anyone that has had defaulted on their cards. I understand the practice to an extent, however in this situation I think it is a bit over the edge. The money was paid 4 years ago when I began to realize the importance of credit, and since have built up a good score and history.

That being said, the card is still awesome and the financing deals are great. I have one with my girlfriend already. The interest free deals are nice.

4 Comments

Comment 1 by crazy2k5
HSBC on 2008-02-13

This is why I don't like HSBC. I plan on canceling my card with them. I don't care If my reoprt takeks a hit. I will also make sure that anything I apply for is not financed by HSBC.
Comment 2 by hjm331
Your Not Alone on 2008-02-13

I'm 18 years old right now and I have this card and the Best Buy Mastercard. I haven't used the regular Best Buy store card yet. The MasterCard is a good card because it shows your pending charges. However, it takes a while for them to report your statement balance, credit line,
Comment 3 by hjm331
My Mistake on 2008-02-13

Sorry, I posted that comment w/o completing it. It takes them a while until they report your info every month and it also takes them 3 business days for them to post your payment onto the account. Those are the two things I can't stand.
Comment 4 by lindalu
Hsbc Didn't Blacklist Me! on 2008-04-16

I filed a bankruptcy 11 months ago and had 2 cards from HSBC that were included... I got 2 cards from them already... One I got 6 months later with $300 limit and one I got this month with a $300 limit... But I think they and capitol one both target people trying to rebuild regardless of the situation... And oh yeah... I just got the best buy mc approved 3 days ago and that is HSBC too(I believe)
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Citibank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Citibank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.