"Approved!"

Delta SkyMiles® Gold American Express Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: jofunk on 2012-10-02

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

jofunk's review: Was denied last month for the blue sky. Applied for the Delta card a month later and was approved for $5000. If you are going to apply, go to the Delta website first. The link on Delta has a better offer than the one directly on the Amex website. 35k miles after spending $750 in the first 3 months.

ex768

6 Comments

Comment 1 by creditcardaddict
Re: Approved! on 2012-10-02

Excellent!! your credit score is looking attractive by the way hahha. Lucky of you to have a excellent score like that. Keep it up!
Comment 2 by jofunk
Re: Approved! on 2012-10-03

3 months ago I had all my credit cards maxed and had a score of 650! (never late on payments) I managed to pay everything down to almost 0 and in 3 months ended up with excellent credit. I was also paying off a credit card that was closed by Chase for no reason after being purchased from Aria/Providian.

I have been pretty obsessive lately about paying off what my statement balance is every month. Sometimes I pay a credit card as many as 4 times a month to make sure that I have enough money to cover everything and that the balance reported to the bureau is low. I may put $1,500 on a CC during the month, but by the time it gets to month end statements, I have already paid it off, so my spending never shows on the credit report.

I now have some pretty nice cards in my wallet.

CapitalOne Venture CL $4,800 (at my request they were able to switch this from the Cap1 Platinum)
Orchard Bank CL $3,800
Discover (new) CL $10,000
Citi Forward (new) $7,000
Delta Amex (new) CL $5,000

I use Citi for restaurants for bonus points
Cap1 for everything else. The other cards will be used once a month for small purchases to keep active.
Comment 3 by wanderer
Re: Approved! on 2012-10-03

Nice... take care of Citi they are really good.
Comment 4 by creditcardaddict
Re: Approved! on 2012-10-03

@Jofunk im in the same situation you were in before. All my major credit cards are maxed out and currently affecting my credit. My score is at 647 :/ but if I paid all of my credit card's balance it would boost my score up to 730! I always pay them on time. But it will take a while until they are at $0 balance. Congratulations on your two new awesome credit cards!!
Comment 5 by jofunk
Re: Approved! on 2013-01-08

Had the card for 3 months and randomly clicked on the credit limit increase link on the AmEx website. Asked for $3k more and was instantly approved. Now I wish I had asked for more. :|

CapitalOne Venture CL $7,800
Orchard Bank CL $3,800
Discover More CL $10,000
Citi Forward $7,000
Delta Amex CL $8,000
Chase Freedom CL $7,000
Comment 6 by jay228
Re: Approved! on 2013-03-16

Applied for the Delta Sky Miles Reserve Card. Was approved for $8300 instant credit limit after verifying my home address.
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by American Express. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by American Express. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.