"Absolutely Blown Away"

Kay Jewelers® Credit Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: islander36 on 2009-11-28

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

islander36's review: Just got my bk chapter 13 discharge letter in the mail today, been looking at other members reviews, decided I didn't have anything to lose by applying for this card. To my shock and surprise I was approved for $2,000. My pre bk discharge scores are tu 660, exp 635 and equ. 599.

7 Comments

Comment 1 by meya
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-11-28

Way to go! Nice limit!
Comment 2 by colonative
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-11-28

Wow, way to go. If it was a Chapter 13, does that mean you had been paying for 3-5 years then? That helps.

This is a great place to start and that $2,000 limit will help your utilization.

I suggest a Visa/MasterCard as your next application. Captial One or a secured card from Citibank, BofA, US Bank or Wells (assuming you did not include them in the bky).

Good luck.
Comment 3 by farmgirl
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-11-28

Awesome! They will be the first card I apply for as well after reading the reviews! :)
Comment 4 by islander36
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-11-28

I did include Cap one in my bk. I am nervous to try applying for a Visa or mc. I did get 5yrs to pay off my bk and I paid them off in 3yrs. I wonder how soon does the credit bureaus get notified of my discharge. Thanks a lot Meya, you are a wealth of information!!! Thanks to everyone who wrote a review.
Comment 5 by colonative
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-11-29

You'd be surprised at how forgiving Capital One can be. But usually they will send you an application once discharged. Maybe try for a secured card instead from Citibank or BofA (again assuming you did not include them in the bky).

The discharge notice is probably already there.

Good luck!
Comment 6 by kiejon9
Re: Absolutely Blown Away on 2009-12-24

Congrats
Comment 7 by soloridah
Good Boost To Credit!! on 2010-02-06

If you like jewelry and also need a good credit acct you need to get Kay's.
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Sterling Jewelers, INC. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Sterling Jewelers, INC. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.