"Approved!"

HSBC Platinum MasterCard® with Cash Back Rewards Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: hjm331 on 2009-04-15

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

hjm331's review: I applied for this card on Saturday and was approved for $3k online. It wasn't instant because they wanted to verify my identity so I had to answer some security questions and was approved 5 minutes later after checking my application status online.

The reason why I applied for this card is because I was using their pre-approval tool and they offered me this card along with 0% percent interest for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers. I was looking for a BT offer with a decent offer and this is sufficient as it will save me some money along the way. I don't know which CRA they pulled but will update later.

I haven't received the card yet as it usually takes a week for me to receive the card. I also like how this card gives me 1% cashback on all purchases so it's definitely a good deal all around.

Comment #2000, we have come a long way!

6 Comments

Comment 1 by ashes
I Like HSBC on 2009-04-16

Congrats! I have had this card since June 2006 and HSBC has been a satisfying experience so far. The reward plan is simple 1% and the online account management is one of the better ones I have seen.

Note, HSBC is not in business of giving auto CLIs. You have to ask for them. I started in June 2006 at $2500 limit and used this card exclusively for 18 months and was not given a CLI. There is however a link online to request a CLI. I tried it and they gave me a 1k CLI. Did it again after 6 months and got another 1k. Seems like that is the maximum they give using the online feature and for me it was a soft pull on my credit reports so I was happy. I had them do an account review on me because I had over 40000 points on the card and a year ago they took me to $7k credit limit. And this was in good times. Not sure how they will be these days.

Note that HSBC is one of the more conservative lenders out there. If you use this card a lot, you will be able to get a CLI but you will have to ask.
Comment 2 by meya
Way To Go on 2009-04-16

I am so happy for you, that is a cool limit, you got me tempted... Lol.
Comment 3 by hjm331
RE: Meya on 2009-04-16

You should use their pre-approval tool and see what they offer you since it's only a soft pull.
Comment 4 by meya
You Know What? on 2009-04-16

Leave me alone. I hate HSBC. I am building a bomb now as we speak... Lmao!
Comment 5 by brian23
Congrats... on 2009-04-16

On the approval and it's a decent CL. I am sure you can get it up a bit higher as you go along...
Comment 6 by hjm331
RE: on 2009-04-17

I received the card in the mail today and called to activate it. The rep told me that they need me to mail them a copy of my DL and two utility bills and I told them to close my account. How are you going to approve someone and ask for them to verify their identity after? It doesn't make sense so I told them to close my account.
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Capital One Bank (USA), N.A.. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Capital One Bank (USA), N.A.. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.