Ing

Replied by FrankN on topic Re: Ing

JGibbs wrote:

JacksonM wrote:
As you said though, everything's low. I've done the math with some CDs/ but it ends up not being worth it.

Are stocks about the only option right now for worthwhile investments? Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are too volatile for me and I'm not good at Forex trading, so I feel like stocks are my only option now. It seems like the less risky options like CDs and bonds just aren't worthwhile enough to bother with. Many also carry fees that eat into the value.

Just make sure you know the risks of investing in stocks right now as they are at all-time highs.
6 years 4 months ago #1

Replied by JGibbs on topic Re: Ing

JacksonM wrote:
As you said though, everything's low. I've done the math with some CDs/ but it ends up not being worth it.

Are stocks about the only option right now for worthwhile investments? Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are too volatile for me and I'm not good at Forex trading, so I feel like stocks are my only option now. It seems like the less risky options like CDs and bonds just aren't worthwhile enough to bother with. Many also carry fees that eat into the value.
6 years 5 months ago #2

Replied by JacksonM on topic Re: Ing

Vice Chairman Stanley Fischer of the Federal Reserve recently gave a speech to the Economic Club of New York on this very topic. It's fairly long but the gist seems to be that there are factors both boosting savings and depressing investment, which is bad for interest rates. The full article is here: https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/speech/fischer20161017a.htm
6 years 5 months ago #3

Replied by Moneyes on topic Re: Ing

Barclays online offers 1% APY on a savings account. You really have to dig for rates better than 2% these days.

Does anyone know why this is? Why rates are so low right now?
6 years 5 months ago #4