America’s Economic dominance

Replied by Wanderer on topic American's Economic Ex-dominance

From where I sit it is all about the lowest price when shopping. Let your local businesses die and go shop online or at certain big boxes. As a consultant I used to work with communities trying to save their "mainstreets" while their community members drove to the big box in the next town. The other factor is we want people to have a minimum wage of say $15 per hour but when that factors through the pricing system we buy foreign to obtain the lower price. As you know, manufacturing is a dirty word and it is virtually all moving off shore.
6 years 7 months ago #1

Replied by Pinky on topic American's Economic Ex-dominance

We USED to be the leader of all things economic in this world, however, in recent years (last decade) our foot hold on the dominance of foreign trade has slipped. Haven't you noticed that everything you buy comes from Taiwan? A lot of our clothes are made in China at sweat shops. Where are all the "Made in America" stickers on things that I would love to buy?
6 years 7 months ago #2

Replied by Joker on topic You are correct in about the economic trade deficit.

When it comes to the trade deficit with China and/or many other countries as well, we have been steadily losing ground in recent years. I haven't heard how our illustrious President is going to deal with this problem, but I can't wait to hear about it on Twitter! (Just a little Presidential humor there).
6 years 8 months ago #3

Replied by Pinky on topic The Falling of the Chinese Market

As you probably know, we do not have fair trade percentages with China. We get their products by truck/plane load but when it comes to sending our products over to them, we are taxed unmercifully. If we don't find a way to even this out, our economy will continue to decline.
6 years 8 months ago #4

Replied by Meya on topic Re: Vote your favorite card here!