"A CLI. Do You Believe It?"

My Best Buy® Visa® Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: jake9999 on 2009-01-12

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

jake9999's review: I logged into my account today and to my surprise, I found they gave me a $100 CLI... After six months of heavy usage, they actually did it. I didn't think HSBC could do that! Ha ha. This card really isn't that bad if you don't have the annual fee. The interest rate is not bad either. I will have to see if there are any other "huge" increases coming my way in the future. All in all I am thankful for the increase even if it is a small one. At least it wasn't the $20 increase I have heard of on this site in the past.

8 Comments

Comment 1 by alit123
Congrats on 2009-01-12

Congradulations on your CLI... Not very common for HSBC... Do you mind sharing your original credit line..
Comment 2 by kellbell
HSBC on 2009-01-12

Cool! I received a CLI from $300 to $500 and now at $700!
Comment 3 by colonative
Woah on 2009-01-12

You need to go buy yourself a Lotto Ticket. As I have always said these cards from HSBC are only good for rebuilding. Use them for all they are worth, charge it and pay it in full each month; that way you are not paying them any interest so who cares if the APR is high? Then after a year of responsible usage try to get an account with Captial One and get rid of HSBC before you have too much time invested in them. Capital One will help you open doors to Bank of America, Chase and Citi.
Comment 4 by brian23
WooHooo. on 2009-01-12

Jake, you had me so excited that I logged onto my account and wwwaaallllaaa, nothing.

My account will be at a year mark in June and in May I will be calling in and if they don't waive the AF and at least increase me to 1K credit limit, they're gone (currently at 450 CL, started with 300 until I threatened to close in the beginning and they bumped me up and waived half the AF).

Again, Congrats on the increase and its nice to see some other FG members are getting some luv from HSBC.
Comment 5 by jake9999
????? on 2009-01-13

What exactly is a valid credit card review? I am reviewing the card... I find it much easier to navigate through credit card reviews than some forum and find it much more helpful when others post comments about their current cards via a review. Just a thought...
Comment 6 by wildrage2
I Agree on 2009-01-13

The review forum is sort of a mess. It's tough to navigate through pages and pages of a threads to find something... I just gave up on it lol.
Comment 7 by colonative
Jake on 2009-01-13

For a valid review, usually you want to state when you opened it, how long you have had it, your credit score at the time of opening. Things like that.

I guess for this one you just needed to add how long youve been a cardholder, what your inital credit line was and how you like or dislike the card.
Comment 8 by mrrob
Congrats on 2009-01-19

When I had this card for approximately 3 months I received an increase without asking (I was shocked) I use the card often but have gotten into the habit of paying it off every month
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Citibank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Citibank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.