"Barclay's Hates"

The Travelocity® Rewards American Express® Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: kellbell on 2008-08-25

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

kellbell's review: When trying to book a vacation to Trinidad and Tobago, I decided to apply for the Travelocity Mastercard. I just received the denial. They do not dig the 3 year old judgment on my credit report apparently.

They pulled Transunion.

This is card #3 that I have beed denied by Juniper/Barclay's.

I will never apply again.

7 Comments

Comment 1 by meya
What!!!! on 2008-08-25

My neighbor just applied last week and was approved for $700 and she has a bk along with co's that were not filed in her bk. That is so weird! You know what, that might be a good thing for you because they are stingy just like HSBC on cli's and they do not offer good limits. I have been stuck with $500 every since I had this card (which is probably one year) not to mention begging for increases nearly every month. They keep telling me that my account is not eligible for a cli request and that they will have to review my card themselves on a "periodic basis" (whatever that mean). Duhhhh, from my knowledge that should mean that you should see that I keep a low balance and when I have a high balance I always pay you off within 2 months. So what does their periodic basis mean? Go with another traveling card and tell this one to kiss you with your back turned against them.
Comment 2 by kellbell
Hahaha on 2008-08-25

Hahaha, Meya you are right. A lot of people praise Juniper/Barclay's, but I'm not getting why.

Even Amex Delta Skymiles gave me love with a $1000.00 limit no less!
Comment 3 by tanyia
BARLCYS on 2008-08-25

Meya is right I started out with 4250 a year and a half ago and guess where I'm at still ~4250~ they tell me the same thing your accout is not eligible for an increase
Comment 4 by colonative
KellBell on 2008-08-25

Is the judgment satisfied or still owed? Also, in the short time I have been on this site I have noticed that you have opened quite a few new accounts so that could be another reason.

Anyway, Barclay's Bank of Delaware is another foreign owned bank so I wouldnt do business with them anyway. On the other hand, I do dig the Roaming Knome...
Comment 5 by lindalu
I Got Denied Too on 2008-08-26

They denied me for the travelocity card and for the itunes MasterCard... I think it was by bk... It is only 15 months old though... I think some of these cards are hit and miss though... One day you just get lucky and get approved for something and cant get some lower end cards... I am holding off on applying for any until the holidays and then I am trying department store cards... I hear they are easier to get around holidays..
Comment 6 by kellbell
Satisfied on 2008-08-26

My judgment is satisfied.
Comment 7 by rockin35
I Dunno.... on 2008-08-29

I don't know about Barclays either. My friend and co worker has "really really good credit" and makes really really good money considering his age and pays everything off each month, also got declined for this card along with the AMEX Plum card. They told him to many recent accounts, but he called and they told him his FICO wasn't in their scoring criteria.

I have the DirectTV Visa card with Barclays, APR is high as h----. So, I don't even use it. Not worth it anyways. Needless to say, I wont be applying for the Carnival Cruise Visa.

I say it's a good thing that you weren't given their card.

Rockin35
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Barclays Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Barclays Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.