"Best Buy Reward Zone M/C"

My Best Buy® Visa® Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: rob72830 on 2008-06-28

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

rob72830's review: Got my BB m/c today with $59 a/f and $300 cl. Well I called cs to try and get the a/f lowered and/or get a cli. After listening to a csr tell me she couldn't waive the a/f or raise my cl and neither could a manager. Well she kind of made me mad so I asked for the manager. The csr protested telling me again the manager couldn't do anything. I told her again I wanted to speak to the manager. She then transferred my call to a manager. After a few minutes on hold the manager came on. I explained my situation. She said she couldn't waive the a/f but could give a cli of $150. So now I still have the $59 a/f but I have a $450 cl. Some might disagree with me but I think I won a small victory today. I also learned that if all else fails, speak to the manager. What can you lose?

Does anyone know if I could still go to the store and apply for the store card?

7 Comments

Comment 1 by mrrob
Way To Go on 2008-06-28

Way to go, I'm still waiting for my card to arrive. I was approved for $300. I have received some good advice on how to obtain a highter cr limit. I'll give it a shot, hopefully I will be successful like you were
Comment 2 by hjm331
Congrats! on 2008-06-28

I would call back and ask for a manager again because it's always a hit and miss even with managers.
Comment 3 by rob72830
Happy on 2008-06-28

I am happy with them increasing it to $450. I probably will let it go for a few months before asking for another cli to give me time to get my utilization on my older cards down to at least 25%.

Good luck, Mrrob. Does anyone know if you can have both Best Buy cards?
Comment 4 by shark6
I Don't Like This Card on 2008-06-29

From reading the reviews here, it seems as if they are stingy with their initial line of credit.

My spouse and I had this card several years ago with a CL of $2500. We had a great history with them but in the midst of trying to build a house in another house and getting ready to move, I misplaced the bill and forgot to pay for one month. They closed our account after 6 yrs. Since then, we have purchased several large appliances and computers and have turned to Lowe's and Office Depot.

I don't have any love for BB.
Comment 5 by hjm331
RE: Shark6 on 2008-06-29

Are you talking about the regular BB store card or the Mastercard?

Best Buy doesn't make any decision with your account. They have made an agreement with HSBC Retail Services which allows HSBC R/S to handle all the credit procedures. I really like my Best Buy store card, but I hate my Best Buy Mastercard because the limit is just not sufficient for my monthly expenses. I spend about $2000-$3000 on my credit cards and I have a $1,000 limit on my Best Buy Mastercard. I've asked for an increase and they pulled a hard inquiry of my credit report and still denied me. This card will be closed once it hits the one year mark.
Comment 6 by shark6
Best Buy on 2008-07-16

I meant to say Home Depot and not office Depot. We had the card over 6years ago. I don't remember who the issuer was but I called and explained our situation and they would not reopen it. I was so upset about that. Ahhh well.

Can you explain the difference with the Best Buy store card vs the BB Reward Zone MC?

Thanks.
Comment 7 by hjm331
RE: Shark6 on 2008-07-16

The difference between the BB store card and the MC is that the store card can only be used at Best Buy and the Mastercard can be used wherever Mastercard is accepted around the world.

The store card is better with CLI's and reports faster than the MC so I kept the store card to help me out with utilization.
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Citibank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Citibank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.