"Approved"

My Best Buy® Visa® Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: mrrob on 2008-06-25

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

mrrob's review: After coming across this wonderful board I decided to apply for the Best Buy Rewards card. I received an email requesting that I call HSBC immediately. I did call and after being placed on hold for what appeared to be 3 hours (LOL) I was approved for the Best Buy MC with a limit of $300. I have been reading the reviews and I plan on calling HSBC once I receive the card asking them to raise the credit limit and lower the AF to $39.00. If I had never stumbled on this board I would have never known the cards that are out here to assist with ones credit. I cannot thank you all enough. After I filed BK-13, (d/t circumstances beyond my control) I thought it was the end and would never be able to establish myself again. Since stumbling on this board between my wife and myself, we have obtained 6 cards. Again thank you all for your info Peace and Blessings to you all

Mrrob

7 Comments

Comment 1 by brian23
Re Mrrob on 2008-06-25

Just a little insight, don't ask them to lower your AF and up your CL. Just tell them u want to cancel the card cause of the low CL and high annual fee. For me, they transferred me to like 4 depts b4 getting me to someone who could help. Just remember to tell them you want to cancel, and they should talk you back into it from there.
Comment 2 by kellbell
BK on 2008-06-26

Good luck! IT's a very good card... For me, at least!
Comment 3 by rj2311
Best Buy on 2008-06-26

I agree with what was said above.

I called and said I wanted to cancel. They transferred me to a manager and she offered to drop the AF and double my CL!
Comment 4 by hjm331
RE: RJ on 2008-06-26

That's what I'm talkin' about! Don't let them mess with you like that. This is a great card for rebuilding. However, I will be closing my BB Rewardzone Mastercard account in November because I have better cards.

Just keep making your payments on-time and you will be receiving pre-approvals from the big banks in no time.

Good Luck
Comment 5 by meya
Way To Go on 2008-06-26

I am so happy for you and your spouse mrrob. Congrats on the approval, and whatever you do, get back to the postings again, because we missed you.
Comment 6 by mrrob
It Worked on 2008-07-05

On the advice of the wonderful people on this board. I received my card today and promptly called threatning to cancel. The raised my limit only $150.00 which is better than nothing. I had to pay the annual fee of $59.00 though. But I'm happy. Thanks again for everyones input

mrrob
Comment 7 by hjm331
Congrats! on 2008-07-06

Mrrob, hope you make your payments on-time and it will open doors to better cards.

Good Luck
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by Citibank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Citibank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.