"Approved!"

U.S. Bank Visa® Platinum Card Review
Card Reviews
Comments
Add Your Own
About

Written by: mizu on 2009-11-07

Overall Satisfaction
Customer Service
Rewards
Account Management
Delivery Time

mizu's review: I received a pre-approval offer in the mail a couple weeks back and decided to go for it. I have been wanting to replace my "bad credit" credit cards for awhile now and decided that I may just be approved. This card offers a $0 annual fee for the first year and $40 thereafter but if you use your card at least once per year they waive the fee. I did not receive an instant approval but called about a week later to find out that I was approved. I'm very happy to finally have a "big kid" card! My credit limit is $5000 and having somewhat not great credit, I have to say that I was totally shocked to hear this. So far, I'm very impressed!

Oh, one last note, the card doesn't carry any rewards that I'm aware of but I believe it has a pretty low interest rate (not sure what mine is yet) and offers the $0 annual fee which is what I was really after.

6 Comments

Comment 1 by wanderer
Re: Approved! on 2009-11-07

Congraulations! I've heard US Bank takes care of people. Also, after getting yourself established (6 to 12 months) with them you might be able to request an upgrade or product change. With a $5K CL not bad at all!!!
Comment 2 by cireone
Re: Approved! on 2009-11-07

CONGRATS!!!

Your are kinda fortunate to get approved from USBank. They are very particular with their approval process, I guess to lessen the risk. I know an employee of USBank and they said that your score has to be at least 600 with no bads to get considered for their products or sevices.
Comment 3 by hjm331
Re: Approved! on 2009-11-08

Congrats on the approval! I've heard that you can ask for a CLI over the phone through their automated system every six months and they will approve you for $1,500 most of the time.

US Bank is definitely a conservative lender but once you're in with them, they will take care of you.

By the way, the minimum FICO score you need to apply with US Bank is 680.
Comment 4 by meya
Re: Approved! on 2009-11-09

Congrats, way to go!
Comment 5 by tia530
Treat Em Good! on 2009-11-15

Congrats!

I have to agree with the others here, US Bank Cards don't come easy, I have it, via pre-approval offer some 8 months ago. I use it faithfully and pay religiously, keepin util under 30% I have received an automatic cli of 1500$ already, these guys are right on the money with their knowledge of the credit game!
Comment 6 by ihatedebt
Re: Approved! on 2013-01-30

Congrats! You worked your tail off to be able to borrow more money! Taking years, and paying down owed balances, you now have a credit score sufficient enough to BORROW more! We should celebrate! Let's throw a party somewhere close by, and we can put the reservation down on your new CC!!!!

Bro- Seriously, if you want to win... stop posting about "getting" a card, and use your income to pay down debt, restore your situation, and build wealth...

I have mad faith in you!
Please login or register for free to view your stats, add reviews and card application results, or post comments.
Credit card reviews and comments are posted by user submission and do not warrant the opinions of Finance Globe.

Disclaimer: This content is not provided by U.S. Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by U.S. Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.